The CLIFTEX projection booth has been upgraded to BARCO'S DP2K-12C digital projection. Based on Texas Instuments' DLP cinema chip, digital projection ensures a crystal clear, first-class movie experience with consistent picture brightness and vibrant colors. Prior to digital conversion in April 2011, the CLIFTEX operated on 35 mm film and equipment assembled from various manufactuers including Century and Simplex that dated back to the 1930's and 1940's. One of those projectors remains in the booth today for historical reference.
Historically, intermission was necessary for a 35 mm reel film change. Intermissions are now no longer necessary with modern digital equipment but the CLIFTEX continues to honor this long-standing cinema tradition. The classic intermission jingle, "Let's All Go to the Lobby," is often played during CLIFTEX movies.
A total restoration was completed in December 2008 that brings back many of the features of the CLIFTEX in 1935.
How old is the CLIFTEX?
The CLIFTEX is the only remaining of three theatres that were founded by D.C. Caraway in the early 1900s. It has been in business since 1916. The original name was "The QUEEN Theatre" which was later changed to "CLIFTEX Talkies."
In the early days, the CLIFTEX operated two theatres, one at the current-day site and the other on the other side of The Clifton Record building. The films, on multi-reels, were started at the CLIFTEX and then "bicycled" to either the Gem or the Cub theatre (whichever it was called at the time), as the reels were completed at the CLIFTEX, to begin there for a separate audience.
Gunfight at the CLIFTEX
In the olden days of yesteryear the lines at the CLIFTEX were extremely long, advancing around the side of the current Leon's Floor Covering building. Many years ago, a drunken cowboy was waiting in line and waving his gun around when a constable decided enough is enough and tried to wrestle it from his hand. Upon doing so, the gun went off and the bullet passed through the leg of a man waiting in line. The bullet struck the side of the floor covering building, leaving an indention in the wall that can still be seen today.
Bonnie & Clyde
According to the late Harry Womack, the notorious outlaws Bonnie Parker and Clyde Barrow made a stop at the Corner Pharmacy while camping in Bosque County. Little did they know that in the 1970s their story would be told across the street, at the CLIFTEX, in a movie that mirrored their names.
What equipment is original?
The side lights on the walls of the auditorium are from the 1930s art deco period, and the wooden seats are, too. Many of the decorative pieces are still used in the lobby and in the auditorium.
Is there a stage back there?
Yes. It is about five feet deep and is bordered with light bulbs and a curtain mechanism.
Theatre owners of the past
|1916 to early 30's||D.C. Caraway|
|Late 30's to early 40's||Capps Family|
|Late 40's to 70's||Joe and Blair Enochs|
|18 months in 70's||Billy Conley|
|1970's to 1995||Ross and Jean Morgan|
|1995 to Dec. 1999||Scott and Luann Sandahl|
|January 2000 to May 2008||Progressive Media
James W. Smith and
W. Leon Smith
|Present||CLIFTEX Theatre, LLC
Phyllis Gamble and Mechelle Slaughter
Through the Years